It is an official document issued by a registry office that confirms the act of marriage. If you have married outside of Poland, you also have to submit a certified translation of your marriage certificate.

EU-Citizen’s family members are:

  • your spouse, your child, your spouse's child under 21 years of age who is economically dependent on you or your spouse; 
  • your parent or your spouse's parent, who is economically dependent on you or your spouse. 

A member of the family EU-Citizen family is an EU's citizen as well as a non-EU citizen. 

A foreigner's family members are, i.e. your spouse that is your wife, your husband and a child under 18 years of age (minor). The other family members, e.g. your siblings or your parents, do not benefit from the status of a family member.

The Schengen Area countries include: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Spain, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Germany, Portugal, Sweden, Italy, Estonia, Lithuania, Latvia, Malta, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Slovenia, Hungary, Croatia, as well as Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Norway, Iceland (the last four are non-EU Schengen countries).

See also: The Schengen Area and the European Union

A person who according to the law is under the age of majority, i.e. is not yet entitled to exercise specific civil and political rights. In Poland it is every person under the age of 18.